View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 6:53 pm



Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 ASUS M3N78-EM (NVIDIA GeForce 8300 chipset) using SATA MCP78 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:57 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post ASUS M3N78-EM (NVIDIA GeForce 8300 chipset) using SATA MCP78
SATA controller working in AHCI mode, but built-in NIC not working.
See Intel NIC below.

****** components ******

CPU AMD|A64 X2 7750 2.7G AM2 R - Retail

MEM 2Gx2|CORS TWIN2X4096-6400C5 R - Retail

MB ASUS M3N78-EM AM2+ GF8300 RT - Retail

2 x HD 1TB|HITACHI 7K 16M 0A38016 %

DVD BURN SAMSUNG|SH-S223Q LS % - OEM

NIC INTEL|PWLA8391GTBLK GIGABIT 1PC - OEM

****** settings ******

BIOS SATA mode to AHCI

Create oem.tgz file per instructions on this site

In simple.map add:

10de:0ad4 1043:82f2 storage ahci

In pci.ids, add:

0ad4 MCP78 SATA Controller

Good luck!

Tim


Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:43 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M3N78-EM (NVIDIA GeForce 8300 chipset) using SATA MCP78
hiya I am very unlucky with this motherboard.
Following all the steps I cannot seem to get it running.

Everytime after I adjust the oem.tgz and reboot my screen goes purple and a lot of debug information is presented.

Did you suffer this at first as well? or am I missing an important step? Please help!

Edit: THis applies only to esxi 4.0, 3.5 works indeed


Sun May 24, 2009 7:05 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:57 pm
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M3N78-EM (NVIDIA GeForce 8300 chipset) using SATA MCP78
Hi,

I only ran into a couple random crashes and raising the memory voltage slightly seems to have resoved that. From your problem description, that will not likely fix it.

I have not tried V4 though, only 3.5. Hope your find a fix and I'll let you know what I find if I try V4.

thanks,

Tim


Sun May 24, 2009 10:30 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 1:32 pm
Posts: 455
Location: Sweden
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M3N78-EM (NVIDIA GeForce 8300 chipset) using SATA MCP78
timf wrote:
Hi,

I only ran into a couple random crashes and raising the memory voltage slightly seems to have resoved that. From your problem description, that will not likely fix it.

I have not tried V4 though, only 3.5. Hope your find a fix and I'll let you know what I find if I try V4.

thanks,

Tim


You don't have a oem file you can post on the forum ?
Please name some thing like this M3N78-EM.oem.tgz :)

rgd Daniel

_________________
Dovie'andi se tovya sagain,



Sun May 24, 2009 10:32 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M3N78-EM (NVIDIA GeForce 8300 chipset) using SATA MCP78
I did get everything to work (not the NIC) on 3.5

the funny thing is, the NIC works on version 4 but not the SATA
the NIC doesn't work on version 3.5

im trying to see if we can use the forcedeth of version 4 and put it on version 3.5

I am quite new to this all so anyone has any experience with it? It could make this mobo work fully under 3.5!


Sun May 24, 2009 12:17 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M3N78-EM (NVIDIA GeForce 8300 chipset) using SATA MCP78
The drivers for 3.5 and 4.0 are different so you wouldn't be able to switch them between versions. What sort of storage error do you have with 4.0?


Mon May 25, 2009 9:00 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M3N78-EM (NVIDIA GeForce 8300 chipset) using SATA MCP78
Dave.Mishchenko wrote:
The drivers for 3.5 and 4.0 are different so you wouldn't be able to switch them between versions. What sort of storage error do you have with 4.0?


I get a stack trace, the screen goes pinkish and alot alot of numbers are shown. Pretty much a BSOD except it's pink ;)

I used it with a PATA drive and version 4 works really well for me with this motherboard, except when I edit the oem.tgz and add the pci id's to the simple.map and pci.id and reboot, boink the screen of death.

I will try to make a screenshot later on.


Mon May 25, 2009 10:26 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M3N78-EM (NVIDIA GeForce 8300 chipset) using SATA MCP78
Dave.Mishchenko wrote:
The drivers for 3.5 and 4.0 are different so you wouldn't be able to switch them between versions. What sort of storage error do you have with 4.0?



Oh yes,

I tried copying the module from version 4 to version 3.5 to no avail, just like you predicted..


Mon May 25, 2009 10:27 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:51 am
Posts: 75
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M3N78-EM (NVIDIA GeForce 8300 chipset) using SATA MCP78
Generally, when you get the PSOD I've found that it means that you either edited or created the TGZ using 7zip or a windows/mac program. Those will change the permissions of the file and the boot loader for ESX can't recognize it.

If found the only reliable way to edit the files are to access them via the archive manager in Ubuntu or Redhat and edit them directly there using Gedit.

Just because you get a PSOD doesn't mean that the device can't be made to work. It's the error message that's important.

_________________
Image


Tue May 26, 2009 2:37 am
Profile

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 25
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M3N78-EM (NVIDIA GeForce 8300 chipset) using SATA MCP78
Bookworm wrote:
Generally, when you get the PSOD I've found that it means that you either edited or created the TGZ using 7zip or a windows/mac program. Those will change the permissions of the file and the boot loader for ESX can't recognize it.

If found the only reliable way to edit the files are to access them via the archive manager in Ubuntu or Redhat and edit them directly there using Gedit.

Just because you get a PSOD doesn't mean that the device can't be made to work. It's the error message that's important.


The thing is, I changed it directly on the Hypervisor1 volume using the CLI on the host itself. Maybe I did do something wrong so i'll give it another go tonight see if I can make it work. I'll post my findings here tonight.


Tue May 26, 2009 5:10 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.