View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 7:06 am

Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Intel NUC DC53427HYE with USB NIC (ASIX) as second interface 

Post Intel NUC DC53427HYE with USB NIC (ASIX) as second interface
Hi all,

I'm pretty new to ESXi, so please forgive me if my problems are maybe a bit odd...

I'd like to use an Intel NUC (3rd Gen) as ESXi server (5.5) in the context of a malware sandbox. Actually I managed to create a modified ISO so the internet ethernet adapter is recognized. But the guests require a second ethernet interface, which should not be routed into the same network for security reasons, so my thought was to add an USB ethernet adapter as second NIC. Unfortunately it is not recognized by ESXi as network adapter. I did manage though to just connect the USB device itself to a guest, and there (running Windows) the adapter is recognized, so I thought that solves the issue. But of course, for the sandbox it is required to have several guests, and they also sometimes run at the same time. It seems the USB device can't be shared between the guests - only the first one gets it, the next ones don't (maybe turning off the USB arbitrator would help, but I doubt it). So it comes back to the problem that ESXi itself must also recognize the device, then it can be bridged to the guests.

The adapter I got is a "ASIX AX88179 USB 3.0 to Gigabit Ethernet Adapter" with device ID 0b95:1790 (branded as Digitus). It seems this chipset is not supported by ESXi. I thought about buying another USB adapter, but all that I checked in a local webshop also seem to use an ASIX chipset, so probably none of these work (if you have any suggestion what might work, please let me know).