View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:02 am



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 3ware 9650se 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 1:45 pm
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 3ware 9650se
I've confirmed that my 9650se works with my box. Just followed the directions here:

http://www.3ware.com/KB/article.aspx?id=15548

It was almost too easy :D

And now the rest of my system:

* ASUS m2npv-vm motherboard
* AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+
* 8gb ram
* 4 x 500gb Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS (1tb Array - RAID 10)
* 3ware 9650se


Thu Aug 06, 2009 4:44 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:55 am
Posts: 2
Location: Sweden
Reply with quote
Post Re: 3ware 9650se
What sort of performance do you get with the WD5000AAKS disks in the 3ware adapter?
I'm right now testing two WD Green WD10EARS in a RAID1 setup with a 3ware 9690SA.
Something is not working in my setup. I get terrible performance, about 1-2 MBps.
These drives have 4096byte disk blocks (didn't know that), instead of the ordinary 512byte blocks. This might cause disk misalignment, but it seems that ESXi 4.1, prevents this.
The "green" drives should be slower than ordinary 720rpm drives, but not that slow!

kind regards
haan


Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:12 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 2:55 am
Posts: 2
Location: Sweden
Reply with quote
Post Re: 3ware 9650se
Just a quick update. I was disappointed with disk performance in ESXi. I was also worried whether my controller was working properly with my motherboard. To verify HW compatibility I did a quick Win7 installation on my WD10EARS disks in RAID1 my 3ware 9690SA controller.
The combination performed surprisingly well with with Win7.
After booting ESXi again, I removed the win partitions with fdisk and added the datastore again(ESXi creating the new partitions).

After moving the VMs to the datastore I feel that everything working quite well, much better than before. Internal copying from datastore-datastore is reasonably quick and my virtual machines are working fine.

Maybe the reformat aligned the filesystems to the 4096byte block borders(even if it looked OK before reformat).

I found a really good document describing file system alignment.

http://www.citrix.com/site/resources/dy ... nments.pdf

Regards
haan


Mon Oct 04, 2010 1:16 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.