View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:22 am



Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R 
Author Message

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:33 am
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Post Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Working whitebox:

motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
nic: Intel Pro/1000 GT
cpu: Intel i7 930
ESXi version: ESXi 4.0 Update 1 (ESXi 4.0.0 build 208167)
Disk: Sata 2 disk -> connected to sata2 port controlled by intel ich10r chip
Sata mode: AHCI -> ich sata control mode = ahci in bios -> integrated peripherals
virtualization technology: enabled in bios -> advanced cpu features

VT-d: DOESN'T WORK (BIOS version: F5): "Host does not support passthrough configuration"

I didn't test it long. I just install ESXi on it. I will test it more. Any problems will be posted.

Thanks for Dave.Mishchenko (vm-help.com forum) and PiLsY (XtremeSystems forum) for their help and suggestions.

ESXi can be boot from pendrive too. I installed (choosed pendrive as a destination) and boot ESXi from 1GB pendrive without problems/errors)


Last edited by studnia on Tue Apr 20, 2010 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.



Fri Mar 26, 2010 2:09 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:46 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Hi,

I am thinking of using almost the exact same hardware for a build. I am either going to go for the X58 or the X58A board.

1. Have you had any problems so far?
2. What about graphics? That board doesn't include integrated graphics i believe
3. Is VT and VT-d the same? Were you able to get VT-d to work with a bios upgrade or something?

Thanks


Sun Apr 11, 2010 9:00 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Quote:
3. Is VT and VT-d the same? Were you able to get VT-d to work with a bios upgrade or something?


VT or VT-x is a CPU feature that will allow you to run 64 bit guest OSes on ESXi. VT-d is a chipset feature and isn't dependent on VT-x.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:48 am
Profile

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:46 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Hi Dave,

Thank you for your reply. So if VT-d doesn't work with this setup, am i only missing out on the ability to push a USB stick through to a VM?

ESXi and my VM's will still be able to take advantage of "hardware virtualisation" ?

Thanks again. Any help with this is much appreciated.

Gabriel


Mon Apr 12, 2010 2:51 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Quote:
Thank you for your reply. So if VT-d doesn't work with this setup, am i only missing out on the ability to push a USB stick through to a VM?


That's right. Assuming the CPUs that you use have the VT-x feature and the MB has the option to enable VT-x (I can't confirm this for this MB) then you'll be able to use hardware assist.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Mon Apr 12, 2010 2:57 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:46 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Hi,

From what i can gather, that board supports VT-x which is great.

I am just going to use an old 8400 for graphics and i found community drivers on SourceForge for the onboard Realtek 8111D network card. Not sure how that will go but hey it's worth a try

http://sourceforge.net/projects/open-vdrivers/

Thanks again.

Gabriel


Mon Apr 12, 2010 5:17 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:33 am
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
gabr13l:
1. Have you had any problems so far?

i don't have problems with this whitebox. it's stable and have very good performance
i had problems with my Kingston 1333 memory - it's on supported modules list but my system set it to 1066 (in auto mode). I manualy set memory multipler and my modules works on 1333 now (i tested it with memtest - no errors)

2. What about graphics? That board doesn't include integrated graphics i believe

you can use any PCIe graphic card - it's only to setup ip adress and reboot/shutdown server;p

3. Is VT and VT-d the same? Were you able to get VT-d to work with a bios upgrade or something?

Dave.Mishchenko answered you:D I send emails to gigabyte support and they can't help me (they answered that mobo isn't server mobo and i should install software with sata ide mode - ?? i don't understand how vt-d depends on sata mode)

Realtek 8111D:

I heard about this modules but i didn't use it. i need stable system. i heard about stability issues with realtek modules. I putted additional intel card. maybe i will add this modules later - then i will have system with 2 network cards. intel card is cheap and you won't have any problems with it.

i advise you to buy X58A (not EX58) - X58A is better motherboard (it have more memory slots for example)


Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:15 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 5:04 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Hi
I have the same MB and CPU, just NIC is Intel Pro 1000 MT Desktop Adapter. I had enabled VT and AHCI option in BIOS.
I could pass the HW verification. On the "Welcome to the VMware ESXi 4.0.0 Installation ", I could not select "Install","Cancel" or "Repair" option. Did you have the same problem? Any help would be appreciated!


Sun Jul 11, 2010 8:39 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:02 am
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
I had this issue also. It was due to my PS2 keyboard. Plugged in a USB keyboard and was able to select options.


Mon Sep 13, 2010 12:09 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 4:14 am
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
studnia, i have GA-X58A-UD5 i think they are mostly same specs,
can you please upload your oem.tgz file or explain a bit how did you succeed.


Tue Sep 14, 2010 2:28 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.