View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:23 am



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Giga-byte GA-G33M-DS2R 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 1:34 am
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Giga-byte GA-G33M-DS2R
Board: Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2R, G33, Socket-775,
CPU: Intel Xeon X3220 2.4GHz
Memory: Crucial DDR2 PC5300 4096MB CL5 * 2
NIC: 2 * HP NC7170
Storage: 3 * Western Digital Caviar SE16 500GB

Graphics: onboard
PSU: AKASA Powersupply ATX/EPS 12V 460W

onboard NIC not supported, also original 8492MT 1000/100/10MT nics did not work for long (see E1000 driver issues with ESXi).


Wed Feb 17, 2010 1:44 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 1:34 am
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Giga-byte GA-G33M-DS2R
An additional note, PCI passthrough does not work due to an apparent lack of Intel VT-d support on this motherboard.


Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:21 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:41 pm
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: Giga-byte GA-G33M-DS2R
I know this is super old but, could you provide some details about which version of ESXi you installed?
I've got this board and I cannot get 4.1 installed. I've tried a number of different combinations of BIOS settings that pertain to IDE/SATA/RAID, I've disabled the onboard NIC, audio and 1394 ports with no luck.

I've posted additional details here http://communities.vmware.com/message/1835439

I would really be grateful if you could share a bit more about your experience.


Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:50 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:41 pm
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Post Re: Giga-byte GA-G33M-DS2R
This is old but any chance you can share some additional information about what version of ESXi you got installed, what the BIOS settings were for onboard IDE, SATA RAID/AHCI or disabled and whether the SATA 0-3 Ports were in normal mode?

I've got the same board and I can't get 4.1 installed. I've spent the evening going through various BIOS options, disabled the onboard audio, 1394 and NIC, added 2 Intel NICs but it fails loading the vmfs3 module. More information can be found here http://communities.vmware.com/message/1835439.

Tomorrow I'll try pulling out the two NICs and removing any other excess hardware, which isn't much to be honest, then trying 4.0.

3.5i works like a champ, but I need 4.x.

Many thanks


Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:08 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.