View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:36 pm



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Intel DG43GT board with E6300 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:29 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Intel DG43GT board with E6300
- Intel Desktop Board DG43GT link / link
    LGA775 socket
    Chipset Intel® G43 Express Chipset
    Intel® 82801JIB I/O Controller Hub (ICH10)
    Gigabit LAN using the Intel® 82567V link
- Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6300 link
    Intel® Virtualization Technology

- Kingston HyperX KHX8500D2K2/4G
- Samsung Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ, 500GB
- Asus TS-6A


I made this whitebox 2 weeks ago and everything still works fine, onboard NIC works, storage controller works. With Intel VT. No RAID capabilities.
Installed using CD-ROM drive that I removed later.
Running ESXi 4 Update 1.
This all cost me just over 300 Euros and I am very happy to begin with ESXi with this box.

Wish list:
Iomega® StorCenter™ ix2-200 link
Kingston SSDNow V-Series SATA2 2.5 (Desktop bundle) 40GB link
and 4 more gigs of RAM ;)

comments? :)

_________________
VCP4


Last edited by mennie on Mon Dec 07, 2009 2:32 am, edited 2 times in total.



Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:57 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel DG43GT board with E6300
The storcenter looks interesting as it supports both iSCSI and NFS as well as jumbo frames. Plus it's supported (at least with ESX) so it's not like you have to take a chance with it.

How does the Kingston drive stand up in performance with other SSD models (e.g. like from Intel). I took a quick look at the specs and the sequential speed looks Ok, but the PCMark numbers seem to be sequential as well so the drive may not be that great with random IO.

Sequential Speed** –

64GB, 128GB – Up to 100MB/sec. read; 70MB/sec. write
40GB – Up to 170MB/sec. read; 40MB/sec. write
PCMARK® Vantage Advanced HDD Suite Score+ –

40GB – 13,883
64GB – 10,436
128GB – 10,580

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Wed Dec 02, 2009 12:14 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:29 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel DG43GT board with E6300
I don't know how the Kingston drive stands up in performance but it is the cheapest SSD available and it looks like a normal disk to ESXi so it can make a scratch partition, that is what I'm planning it for.
I want my data on the storcenter in RAID1 and an SSD to boot ESXi from, maybe test a bit with VMs on SSD.

_________________
VCP4


Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:46 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel DG43GT board with E6300
You can also use the SSD space for as the VM swapfile location.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Fri Dec 04, 2009 8:29 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:29 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel DG43GT board with E6300
Yes I also want to test a little bit with that.

Last friday I added another NIC that is detected, I've configured jumbo frames on the vSwitch and VMkernel port.
No external storage yet, but I'm prepared now. ;)

- Intel® Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter link
    Intel® 82574L Gigabit Ethernet Controller link

_________________
VCP4


Mon Dec 07, 2009 2:35 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 12:39 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel DG43GT board with E6300
Hi,

I just setup ESXi 4.0 with the same board (DG43GT, plus a Q8200). With your setup can you see the cpu and motherboard temperatures from the client? If so did you have to do anything to get that to work?

Thanks!


Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:29 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:16 am
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel DG43GT board with E6300
Hi,

Did either of you have to make any modifications to files before you installed? Or did it install straight away correctly?

I am planning on using the same motherboard but don't want to have to make any modifications to files.

I just need the basic system to be running, nothing fancy or extra needs to be enabled.

I know you posted a while ago but hoping there is a chance of a reply.

Thanks


Mon Jun 06, 2011 9:23 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.