View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 15, 2019 6:18 pm



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 how to add boot switches on esxi 5 
Author Message

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:51 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post how to add boot switches on esxi 5
Hi guys/gals,

I am having a heck of a time getting esxi to run on my hardware, or any current hyper-visor for that mater.
this is what I am running, It is my old desktop and almost always they get booted to server duty when I upgrade.

Evga x58 classified model 759
I7 920
geforce 520.

ESXi 5 freezes on hangs on Relocating modules and starting up the kernel
ESXi 4 u2 freezes during boot with a psod on a timing error.
xenserver freezes somewhere during boot
proxmox freezes during install also due to a timing error.

After much googling I am starting to think I need to add the noapic switch to esxi 5, I can not figure out how to add this switch though.
I did not figure it out for esxi 4 or proxmox ether though i think with more searching I may figure those out.

This server was going to be my home play yard, but It looks like i chose poorly when getting my evga motherboard.

for esxi it looks like I should beable to add the command by shift o but that does not seem to work, I may be doing it wrong of course.

thanks for any help.
rody


Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:43 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: how to add boot switches on esxi 5
You can still use shift+O on the inital boot screens. During an install you press it just after the screen in which you pick to boot the installer or from the local boot disk.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:26 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:51 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post Re: how to add boot switches on esxi 5
well that did not work. oh well time for some new hardware.


Sun Jun 24, 2012 3:01 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:51 pm
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Post Re: how to add boot switches on esxi 5
just for fun I tried esxi 5.5 and it still hangs on the same spot. Windows server 2012 / hyperv work just fine though.


Mon Sep 30, 2013 10:27 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.