View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Jul 18, 2019 7:46 pm

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Struggling with getting my Highpoint RAID passing through 

Post Struggling with getting my Highpoint RAID passing through
This is my first attempt at using VMDirectPath and the site here has been a great resource.

I have an Intel DX58OG mobo and believe it and ESXi 4.1 are setup corectly for VMDirectPath. I think this because I've managed to assign and use USB and HD auidio devices into Win08R2 and Win7 guests.

I'm now at the serious end of things where I'm trying to setup my Highpoint RAID card to the Win08R2 guest for its RAID5 data drive. The boot drive is on a VMFS store. I can't get it to work.

I have tried to add the devices to both a Win08R2 and Win7 guest (one at a time of course) and neither want to show the device. All I get is an unknown base device that does not have the correct IDs to allow the Highpoint drivers to load. I have tried adding the 6:00 and the 7:00 and the 4:00 devices both individually and as a group. The base device shows up when the 4:00 device is added to the guest.

Any thoughts on what I should be looking for next would be most appreciated.

Attachments:
vmdirectpath.jpg
vmdirectpath.jpg [ 174.3 KiB | Viewed 6968 times ]
Tue Aug 16, 2011 2:03 am
Site Admin

Post Re: Struggling with getting my Highpoint RAID passing throug
What model of controller are you trying to use?

Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide

Wed Aug 17, 2011 11:35 pm

Highpoint Rocket Raid 640

My current path of investigation is taking me down trying to disable the option ROM on the RocketRaid from the DX58OG BIOS - still struggling here, not sure if its a dead end yet.

Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:39 am
Site Admin

Do you have two of them in the server?

Fri Aug 19, 2011 8:02 am

No, just the one PCIe x4 card.