View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat May 27, 2017 1:55 am



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 Unable to assign more than 1 core to Win 2008 R2 Guest 
Author Message

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 12:36 am
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Unable to assign more than 1 core to Win 2008 R2 Guest
Good Day

I am doing very general basic support on vSphere and I am trying to allocated more cores to an existing Windows Server 2008 R2 Guest.

I am able to allocate 1, 2 or 4 sockets but only 1 core and nothing more.
If I "edit settings" on any of our other servers I am able to allocate 1,2,3 or 4 cores but just not on this one specific type of guest.

I have tried to allocate it via "Options -> General -> Configure Parameters" adding a new Row "cpuid.coresPerSocket" = 2" but doing this results in the following errors after i have reconfigured and applied and then edit settings again to view the number of cores:

1 socket 2 cores:
The following CPU configurations error exist:
-Number of cores per socket is not supported.
-Number of cores per socket canot be greater than number of virtual CPUs.

2 sockets 2 cores:
The number of cores per socket is not supported.

Please advise and let me know if there is any more information I can provide.

Any advise will be greatly appreciated.

Regards

FridgeWheeL


Attachments:
File comment: Screenshot
df-ess-08r2.GIF
df-ess-08r2.GIF [ 103.65 KiB | Viewed 14061 times ]
Tue Aug 27, 2013 1:03 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Unable to assign more than 1 core to Win 2008 R2 Guest
Which version of ESXi are you using and have you tried to upgrade the virtual machine hardware for the VM?

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Tue Aug 27, 2013 11:49 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 12:36 am
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Unable to assign more than 1 core to Win 2008 R2 Guest
Good Day, thank you for your prompt response.

I figured it out about an hour after I posted and was waiting for approval on my post.

Indeed the solution was to backup & upgrade the actual virtual machine from version 4 to 7. After that I was able to increase the cores on the vm.

Thank you once again for the reply.

Regards


Wed Aug 28, 2013 10:37 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.