View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Mar 22, 2017 2:13 pm

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Inexpensive hardware RAID-1 (YES! Hardware & cheapo) 

Post Inexpensive hardware RAID-1 (YES! Hardware & cheapo)
Hi to all!

As several of you like to use RAID-1 inside your ESXi servers, but a very limited support exists for low cost host controllers (no less than $300), here the holy grail: :shock:

For less than $100 (I'm only a system administrator, this price is only for your information) you can obtain an internal hardware enclosure for TWO 2.5'' HD with REAL HARDWARE RAID-1. The magic word is: SteelVine. :o

SteelVine is a hardware processor from SiliconImage for low cost hardware enclosures (mainly external 2x3.5'' USB/eSATA), with several operation modes. It's works impersonating the SATA HD (no drivers needed!). With only ONE SATA port you can access the two HD in RAID-1, RAID-0, independent disks, or special mixed modes SAFE33/SAFE50.

See more information googling for "SteelVine" and " SteelVine Manager".

My suggestion (tested by me with an ESX4i server) is:
Internal SATA port <---> internal Enclosure for two 2.5 SATA HD and one SATA port

See "external" model (some internal enclosures exists with SATA power+data from several manufactures, but with different name) googling for "2232RUS". :lol:

Any product with SteelVine processor can do the work! :D
Regards!

Remark: I prefer to not include here any link to specific shops or list some manufacturers for best neutrality. I have no association with the company named! :|

Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:58 am
Site Admin

Post Re: Inexpensive hardware RAID-1 (YES! Hardware & cheapo)
That looks pretty interesting. Have you had a chance to test performance and what's the rebuild process like?

Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide

Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:02 am

Dave.Mishchenko wrote: