View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Oct 19, 2019 10:03 pm

Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Where to find local.tgz for resetting the root password? 

Post Where to find local.tgz for resetting the root password?
Hi everyone.

I am following this post to recover/reset the root password of my ESXi host, and I can't quite figure out where the VMware files are, and therefore neither how to mount them in order to start looking for the latest version of either local.tgz or state.tgz.
I'm new to Linux and hopefully that's only the reason why I struggle at this stage.

In my case typing fdisk -l returns the following:

Disk /dev/sda: 107.3Gb
/dev/sda1 * 1 13055 104855552 7 HFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdb: 268.4Gb
/dev/sdb1 1 32636 2621... 7 HFS/NTFS

I can mount /dev/sda1 but then what I see in there is only the Windows Server 2008 files. W2k8 being the only VM guest currently installed.
I can also mount /dev/sdb1 and then I see even less, just a few files that look like a partial install of Windows Server 2008, but nothing like the stream of WMware files that I should see.

Could anyone give me some directions regarding how/where to find local.tgz or state.tgz in order to proceed get back ownership of this ESXi server ?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

Sun Oct 23, 2011 9:02 am
Site Admin

Post Re: Where to find local.tgz for resetting the root password?
Are you running ESXi on a USB stick?

Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide

Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:45 am

Hi Dave.

No, but you're guessing in the right direction already!

I asked my question on #vwmare on irc.freenode.net yesterday and I could already get some clues from people out there.

I figured out that the live Linux CD was booted after ESXi... but before the only hosted VM (Windows Server 2008).