View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:16 pm



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Adding NIC's 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:43 am
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Adding NIC's
Hi,

Small question, is it possible to add NIC drivers to an existing ESXi (free) installation.
I have 2 extra NIC's and would like to make them operate.
I've seen that the drivers are available here: http://www.vm-help.com/esx40i/customize_oem_tgz.php

So I'm wondering.

Kind Regards, Starf0x


Wed Aug 24, 2011 5:55 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding NIC's
It's no problem to add NICs to an existing install. What does the system have right now and what oem file were you thinking of using?

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Wed Aug 24, 2011 8:33 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:43 am
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding NIC's
Hello Dave,

The system has (at this moment) a running RTL-8169.
There are 2 network cards left they are an MCP61 and RTL-8139.
Both OEM files are available on the webpage I mentioned previously.

Kind Regards, Starf0x


Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:50 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding NIC's
A couple of options:

1) Wait for ESXi 5.0. It includes realtek 8168 / 8169 drivers which might remove the need to use an oem file for the current NIC.

2) You can use multiple oem files. You edit boot.cfg and change
--- oem.tgz

to
--- oem.tgz --- oem2.tgz etc.

The thing with this option is that the simple.map file in the last oem.tgz file that you list must include all the relevant data for the other oem.tgz files that you use.

3) You create a single oem.tgz file with the drivers you need and a simple.map file with all the data you need in it.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:05 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:43 am
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding NIC's
Thank you for these options.

I will vote for the second one, and act on it. ESXi 5 is announced, but I can't find anything about it if it will be free again, or a release date.
Indeed the simplemap file needs to be edited, and the information for both is available in the OEM files.
I'll see if I can find those mentioned files and edit them.
Thank you very much.

Kind Regards, Starf0x


Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:20 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding NIC's
ESXi 5 should be out within a week.

With option 2, I would start with driver testing before adding the oem files. Copy the modules to /usr/lib/vmware/vmkmod and then load them with vmkload_mod. You don't need a "correct" simple.map file just yet.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:47 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:43 am
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding NIC's
A week?
Then I'll wait for that, I would be an idiot if I didn't ;)
I'm no Linux Guru, heck, I don't know anything about it.
I'll wait :)

Thank you, you saved ma a lot of headaches :)

Kind Regards, Starf0x


Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:51 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding NIC's
A lot of people were saying the 22nd, but given that the day has come and gone I figure they'll wait for VMware World which is next week.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:56 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:43 am
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding NIC's
Hi,

I've upgraded to the 5.0 but had to modify the iso to get a NIC to work.
Am I still safe to assume that the solution you proviede in the previous messages is the same for the 5.0 version?

Kind Regards, Starf0x


Fri Aug 26, 2011 10:49 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 4:43 am
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Adding NIC's
Ok, I tested it.
What I did:

created an oem.tgz files including all the drivers from the other oem files.
Changed the simple.map of that oem to include the settings for all the drivers.
Copied it in the same folder as the boot.cfg.
And added it in to the modules line at the end with: --- oem.tgz
Rebooted and the other nics didn't appear.

Am I doing something wrong here?

Starf0x


Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:52 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.