View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:35 pm



Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Intel Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter won't connect 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:55 pm
Posts: 13
Reply with quote
Post Intel Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter won't connect
I've installed an Intel Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter, and it refuses to connect. I have a Broadcom in the same system, and it has never had a problem. On the Intel, I can see that it connects to the switches and negotigates exactly the settings I tell ESXi to do, but it will never show a connection. I've tried DHCP and static settings with the same results. I've also tried 2 of the same card. Has anyone gotten this card to work in 4.0?

It looks like this is an issue with ESXi 4.0 as I just tried 3.5 U4, and the card works.


Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:54 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:55 pm
Posts: 13
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter won't connect
Could the nForce 430 chipset be the problem?


Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:33 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter won't connect
I'd disable anything in the BIOS that you won't be using. What sort of switch are you connecting to? Are you able to create a vswitch with the NIC and then attach a VM to it?


Thu Aug 20, 2009 9:50 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:55 pm
Posts: 13
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter won't connect
Sorry for the week long delay. I was out of town.

I am using a Cisco 3750. I can create a vswitch with the NIC and then attach a VM to it, but I can't pass traffic through it even when I give it a static address.


Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:55 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:55 pm
Posts: 13
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter won't connect
I tried switching PCIe slots, updating the BIOS, and using the noACPI and nopowerManagement options on boot with no joy.


Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:53 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter won't connect
But with ESXi 3.5 you have absolutely no issues?


Fri Aug 28, 2009 8:22 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:55 pm
Posts: 13
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter won't connect
That is correct. With ESXi 3.5 it works without issue. I bought the card with the intent of using it with jumbo frames for NAS only traffic for the datastore.


Fri Aug 28, 2009 9:26 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter won't connect
Would you be able to clarify this -

l ESXi to do, but it will never show a connection. I've tried DHCP and static settings with the same results. I've also tried 2 of the same card. Has anyone gotten this card to work in 4.0?

- if you create a management port on the NIC, does that work OK?

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:08 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:55 pm
Posts: 13
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter won't connect
I added the NIC card to a VM, and it wouldn't get a DHCP address. I gave it a static IP address, and it would not pass traffic then either.

I've created a management port on the NIC, and it shows disconnected and will not communicate with the DHCP server. I set the management address to a static IP, but it will still not pass traffic.

This problems appears to be related to the motherboard. I have multiple Dell Optiplex 740's which I am using, and all of them have the same issue. I have 2 Intel CT cards, and they both act the same way when running ESXi 4.0 on any of the Dell Optiplex 740's. I was able to borrow a 755, and the cards work perfectly. This would indicate the motherboard driver is the issue.


Sat Aug 29, 2009 3:52 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:55 pm
Posts: 13
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel Gigabit CT Desktop Adapter won't connect
I purchased an Intel Pro/1000 MT Desktop Adapter, and it's behavior is just as strange. It connects and can get an address, but it takes a very long time to obtain it from DHCP. It pings fine, but it won't let you connect to the box via the vSphere client or connect to NFS from the box.

It works just fine in 3.5. Too bad I have a ton of 740's.


Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:17 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.