View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:49 am



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 VMWare image not compatible with current version 
Author Message

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:16 am
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post VMWare image not compatible with current version
Hi,

I have tried to use an image I created on a higher version of VMWare in a lower version of VMWare.

I have an assignment at University to create a linux system in VMWare etc.

I went home created a new image on my own pc and downloaded the latest version of VMWare.

When I tried to use this image I created it wont let me because I created it on a newer version.

Would there be any way to convert the image to a lower version so I could use it. It would make my life easier!

P.s. Sorry if this is in the wrong section however I am new to these forums

Ta :D ,

Luke!


Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:21 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: VMWare image not compatible with current version
A couple of options:
1) Use VMware Converter (free download) to convert the VM to something you can use on the 2nd host.
2) Recreate the VM - when you create a default VM it'll be with the latest hardware version which isn't compatible with older host you're using. If you choose to create a VM with the custom option you can select the hardware version for the VM and choose one that's work with the older host.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:44 am
Profile

Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 6:16 am
Posts: 20
Reply with quote
Post Re: VMWare image not compatible with current version
Dave.Mishchenko wrote:
A couple of options:
1) Use VMware Converter (free download) to convert the VM to something you can use on the 2nd host.
2) Recreate the VM - when you create a default VM it'll be with the latest hardware version which isn't compatible with older host you're using. If you choose to create a VM with the custom option you can select the hardware version for the VM and choose one that's work with the older host.


Yeah, Dave is right.
You could always change the VM's operating system to 'Other Linux (32bit)' or 'Other Linux (64bit)' and it should be fine with older hosts. Hopefully they didn't upgrade the VM to version 8 and still left it version 7 or below.


Thu Nov 10, 2011 4:59 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.