View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 21, 2018 1:53 am



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Just newbie questions... 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:41 am
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Just newbie questions...
Hi. Been wanting to create a really cool whitebox so I have been scouring through the HCL to piece together something good. I have gotten pretty close to my solution thanks to the HCL's and all the forums.

Now I have come up with a couple questions about ESXi. :?
1. Is it best to have ESXi boot off a usb stick instead of a HDD? That way my raid can be dedicated to a data store and I don't have to waste a drive for the OS.
2. Do I need to get vSphere if I'm only using one ESXi box? I only need one server to accomplish my goals so can I get away with not using vSphere? How would I create VM's without it?

Thanks,
Scott


Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:28 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Just newbie questions...
1) You can do either. ESXi will require about 5 GB for a HD install and the I/O requirements are very low once ESXi has booted up. Seperating ESXi to USB does have advantages. If anything goes wrong you can just swap the USB flash device and then register the VMs that were on the datastore.

2) vSphere is just the product name for ESXi once you start to pay for the license. In your case you'll still need to license ESXi (with the free Hypervisor edition) and you'll use the vSphere client to manage it. Nothing else is needed.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Mon Mar 28, 2011 8:04 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:41 am
Posts: 6
Reply with quote
Post Re: Just newbie questions...
Wow… thanks for the quick reply!

Ok, so if I'm using the HyperVisor (free edition), can I create vSwitches and all that?

What I'd like to accomplish is to have a machine with 2 nic ports
- eth0 will be a direct connect from the internet (cable modem)
- eth1 will be a filtered connect out to the rest of my physical network.

I want to have a VM that will pick up eth0, filter (DansGuardian, tinyproxy), then have VM's attach to the filtered network and also provide the filtered network to my physical network through eth1.

Without going into too much detail, is this possible?

Thanks again!!


Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:13 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 12:08 am
Posts: 39
Location: Prato, Italy
Reply with quote
Post Re: Just newbie questions...
Yes you can :D


Mon Mar 28, 2011 1:22 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.