View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:41 am



Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Intel 8492MT Pro/1000 Dual Port NIC 
Author Message

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 3:53 pm
Posts: 36
Reply with quote
Post Intel 8492MT Pro/1000 Dual Port NIC
OK, apparently I gave myself more credit than I deserve in intelligence. I attempted to look up the subject card on the ESXi HCL, but was completely overwhelmed.

I "thought" that Intel Pro/1000 NICs were supported, but I'm starting to feel like ALL are not supported. In classic Intel fashion, there are many different models, varying by only 1 letter sometimes.

I've seen references to this card, but does anyone know if the card is natively supported in ESXi 4.1? (or earlier releases)

It seems that you can pick this card up pretty reasonably on E-bay, but I want to be sure before wasting my money. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Dave

_________________
VMWare ESXi 4.1
Asus M4A785TD-M EVO
(o/s on thumb drive)
Athlon II X4 630 @ 2.8GHz
16GB G-Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333 RAM


Thu Oct 07, 2010 5:27 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 3:53 pm
Posts: 36
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel 8492MT Pro/1000 Dual Port NIC
Hello all -

I got the card for $25/shipped, so I figured I would take my chances. Good news - took my old cards out and put this card in, and it worked fine in my ESXi 4.1 box. I have both cards active in the pool. Just a note that it is a 64-bit PCI card.

I transferred an 800MB file over wireless N @ about 3MB/sec.

_________________
VMWare ESXi 4.1
Asus M4A785TD-M EVO
(o/s on thumb drive)
Athlon II X4 630 @ 2.8GHz
16GB G-Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333 RAM


Sat Oct 16, 2010 5:22 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:23 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel 8492MT Pro/1000 Dual Port NIC
How did you get ESXi 4.1 to install with your motherboards? I am having difficulty with my Asus M2A-VM board. I have an Intel Pro/1000 MT NIC.

_________________
MSI 880GM-E41
Phenom II 955 X4 3.2ghz
16GB (4x4GB) G.skill Ripjaws DDR3
Intel Pro/1000 MT


Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:11 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 3:53 pm
Posts: 36
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel 8492MT Pro/1000 Dual Port NIC
Hello Cosmo, and welcome to the forums.

Can you tell us what types of problems you are encountering so that we can possibly offer advice? Also, have you checked out this forum topic?

viewtopic.php?f=13&t=362

Your NIC should likely be supported out of the box, but there are some BIOS settings that you need to set before your disk controllers will work as expected. As for my Asus board, it worked out of the box.

Cheers,
Dave

_________________
VMWare ESXi 4.1
Asus M4A785TD-M EVO
(o/s on thumb drive)
Athlon II X4 630 @ 2.8GHz
16GB G-Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333 RAM


Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:33 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:23 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel 8492MT Pro/1000 Dual Port NIC
Yeah when I try and install ESXi 4.1 with the CD it locks up at the Welcome... screen. When I try and run it from USB, I have been able to get past the "yellow" screen and it shows that the NIC is detected but locks up at that point.

I changed the SATA controller to AHCI enabled, and I am still having the issue.

Yes I believe I have a supported NIC now as I am able to get to the yellow screen and at the very least it says.

Download tools to manage this host from:
http://localhost/
http://0.0.0.0/ (STATIC)

Something like that.

_________________
MSI 880GM-E41
Phenom II 955 X4 3.2ghz
16GB (4x4GB) G.skill Ripjaws DDR3
Intel Pro/1000 MT


Last edited by cosmo on Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:18 am, edited 1 time in total.



Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:09 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel 8492MT Pro/1000 Dual Port NIC
Do you have a DHCP server on the subnet or have you tried to manually set an IP address?

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:12 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:23 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel 8492MT Pro/1000 Dual Port NIC
I have a DHCP server on the LAN. The screen locks up before I can press F2 to customize the settings.

For those that are running it on a ASUS motherboard, can you send me the items that I need to disable in the BIOS?

Thanks!

_________________
MSI 880GM-E41
Phenom II 955 X4 3.2ghz
16GB (4x4GB) G.skill Ripjaws DDR3
Intel Pro/1000 MT


Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:18 am
Profile

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 3:53 pm
Posts: 36
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel 8492MT Pro/1000 Dual Port NIC
A couple of thoughts here...

1. It sounds like your ESXi host is not picking up an IP from your DHCP server. If you haven't already, I would disable the onboard NIC, and I would certainly ensure that you do not have a LAN cable plugged into that port. My initial build actually failed on my Asus board because I did not disable the on-board NIC. Apparently the kernel can be a bit sensitive.

2. Your lockups concern me in that you may have a hardware issue. If #1 doesn't resolve the issue, then I would also suggest pulling all but one stick of RAM and seeing if you still get the lockup.

Also, can you please tell us what you've installed your hypervisor on? Did you install it on an internal hard disk or flash drive? If you used a flash drive, what brand flash drive is it? I have mine installed on a flash drive. However, my first go didn't work, as I used an OCZ Diesel thumb drive. I had to buy a Kingston thumb drive to get it to work.

Cheers,
Dave

_________________
VMWare ESXi 4.1
Asus M4A785TD-M EVO
(o/s on thumb drive)
Athlon II X4 630 @ 2.8GHz
16GB G-Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333 RAM


Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:01 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:23 am
Posts: 23
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel 8492MT Pro/1000 Dual Port NIC
DHCP on the LAN is working for sure. I believe the core issue is the lock ups. I have pulled out all sticks but one and tried them one by one. Still same result.

I have disabled the onboard NIC, Audio, Serial, SATA (for now) and IDE. I also have disabled the following items in BIOS under CPU Configuration...

AMD Virtualization [Disabled]
AMD CPU C1E Support [Disabled]
AMD Live! [Disabled]
AMD Cool 'n' Quiet Function [Disabled]
TLB Fix [Disabled]

I "installed" it onto a Lexar 1GB Flash, it seems to start up fine. (See PICS labeled Startup Process A, B, C, D) it locks up or at least does not accept keyboard input at screen C. However it does go into "screen saver" mode (screen D) so I am not 100% it locks up.


Attachments:
File comment: Startup Process D
PICT7433.JPG
PICT7433.JPG [ 949.89 KiB | Viewed 7089 times ]
File comment: Startup Process C
PICT7431.JPG
PICT7431.JPG [ 748.38 KiB | Viewed 7089 times ]
File comment: Startup Process B
PICT7430.JPG
PICT7430.JPG [ 765.03 KiB | Viewed 7089 times ]
File comment: Startup Process A
PICT7429.JPG
PICT7429.JPG [ 845.82 KiB | Viewed 7089 times ]

_________________
MSI 880GM-E41
Phenom II 955 X4 3.2ghz
16GB (4x4GB) G.skill Ripjaws DDR3
Intel Pro/1000 MT
Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:00 am
Profile

Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 3:53 pm
Posts: 36
Reply with quote
Post Re: Intel 8492MT Pro/1000 Dual Port NIC
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty confident that you need to enable virtualization. Also, I have cool & quiet enabled without issue.

Are you using a USB keyboard, or PS/2?

Lastly, I think you may have a problem with your NIC, because clearly it's not picking up an IP via DHCP.

1. If you are using a USB keyboard, I would try a PS/2 keyboard.
2. If you are using a PS/2 keyboard, I would purchase another Intel PRO/1000 NIC from a local retailer just to try it out and rule that out. If it doesn't solve your issue, you can always return it.
3. I would also consider trying another thumb drive for your install. I picked up my Kingston drive for $8 @ Office Depot. If it doesn't solve your issue, you can always return it.

One thing I have found in my brief experiences with ESXi (I only go back to 3.5) is that error messages and problems in general are VERY misleading or completely untelling. I know it sounds like we're throwing darts here, but this is the pain of working with hardware that is not on the HCL. Please let us know your results.

Cheers,
Dave

_________________
VMWare ESXi 4.1
Asus M4A785TD-M EVO
(o/s on thumb drive)
Athlon II X4 630 @ 2.8GHz
16GB G-Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333 RAM


Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:04 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.