View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Mar 25, 2017 1:42 pm



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Gigabyte 965P-DS3 + Intel Pro 1000 GT 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:29 am
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Gigabyte 965P-DS3 + Intel Pro 1000 GT
Installed ESXi 4.0 from CD without any problems
(had to install intel pro GT 1000 nic)

- MB: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 (BIOS F14d)
- NIC: Intel Pro 1000 GT (gigabyte onboard not working) x 2
- CPU: E6300 (Intel Socket 775, Dual Core 1.8Ghz) supports VT and 64Bit
- DISK: standard seagate Sata2 disk in first Sata port
- CD: Installed off old PATA dvd drive
- VIDEO: Old S3 Virge PCI from the 90's ;)
- AHCI: working with AHCI enabled or disabled in the MB bios
- Board supports Raid but did not test with any Raid config.
- The Motherboards onboard SATA controller is ICH8


Last edited by buzzle74 on Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:20 am, edited 1 time in total.



Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:54 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 10:24 pm
Posts: 17
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 + Intel Pro 1000 GT
Hello

Does this mean that Intel pro/1000 GT is not support out of the box?

I am about to order a new card and was thinking about this one
PWLA8391GT aka Intel pro/1000 GT but judging from your post
it doesn't work and some line adding (simple.map) is needed ?


Tue Aug 25, 2009 11:00 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 + Intel Pro 1000 GT
The Pro/1000 GT will work without modifications.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:18 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 10:24 pm
Posts: 17
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 + Intel Pro 1000 GT
Thank you Dave

Card is ordered and cant wait to test it.


Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:02 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:54 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 + Intel Pro 1000 GT
Sorry to resurrect an old post but I have only just stumbled upon it. I am using pretty much the same Motherboard and NIC combo as you (mine is a 965 - ds3P

ESXi installs fine to my 1gb flash drive but when the server reboots I get an error saying

cannot get bank 1 parameters
Warning : Bank 1 partition type invalid. ignoring

cannot get bank 2 parameters
Warning : Bank 2 partition type invalid. ignoring
Panic : no usable banks found

I have tried installing from CD to USB and also tried creating the USB ESXi image with Winimage.

Any ideas?


Thu May 06, 2010 11:59 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 + Intel Pro 1000 GT
See if this helps - http://doomdogus.wordpress.com/2009/10/ ... herboards/.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Fri May 07, 2010 1:12 am
Profile

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:54 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 + Intel Pro 1000 GT
Thanks Dave, I am running windows 7 so FDisk is not available and I dont quite follow that guide. Would I need to use something like hireins boot disc to use fdisk? But then what commands would I need to run on the USB?


Fri May 07, 2010 1:40 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 + Intel Pro 1000 GT
How did you make out with this? You could also use a Linux live CD.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Sun May 09, 2010 10:41 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 11:54 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 + Intel Pro 1000 GT
I gave up on installing it to a USB stick and just installed it to a SATA drive, unfortunately this is the only spare I have so its where my VM's and datastore are sitting too.


Mon May 10, 2010 10:59 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte 965P-DS3 + Intel Pro 1000 GT
ESXi uses a RAM disk to operate so once it has booted there is a minimal amount of activity to the install disk.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Wed May 12, 2010 11:33 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.