View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Jun 22, 2017 10:55 pm



Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
 ASUS M2A-VM SATA 
Author Message
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M2A-VM SATA
ESXi will use about 1 GB and since your NIC will work then you only have to worry about storage. With USB boot you don't have to use Linux - you can do everything from ESXi.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Fri Nov 27, 2009 9:51 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M2A-VM SATA
why is usb boot different than using the esx4i cd?


Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:07 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M2A-VM SATA
You can install ESXi to a USB device and run with it. If you're having trouble installing to your PC's HD it'll be easier to troubleshoot.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:34 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M2A-VM SATA
ok, installed to a USB (WOW, easy)

in unsupported mode
Ran the command vmkload_mod ahci

opened vsphere client (on my laptop) and was able to see 1 of my 3 drives (2 - sata and 1 ide, all of them are 250gb)

Any reason I'm only seeing 1 drive?

Also, can someone walk a windows admin through this:

(6). In the ESX partition which contains the empty oem.tgz
(7). Copy the modified oem.tgz (attached here) and overwrite the original
OR
(8). Create your own simple.map witch includes the following lines:

1002:4380 0000:0000 storage ahci
8086:107c 0000:0000 network e1000
Here's what I did

cd bootbank
/vmfs/volumes/386a41e4-ff1587ba-1385-2feaeed494ad # ls

I can see the oem.tgz file, but I have no idea what to do now.

Thanks


Sat Nov 28, 2009 8:37 am
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M2A-VM SATA
Are you seeing an IDE or one of the SATA drives.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:05 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M2A-VM SATA
It installs to a USB memory stick fine, very easy... I have to go into "unsupported" mode and run the vmkload_mod ahci after every reboot of ESXi4 or ESXi will not see my Sata drives.

ESXi can see my 2 sata drives but not my IDE drive. No big Deal I can live with that. What is the performance hit when running from a USB drive?

Everytime I try and load ESXi to a sata drive it seems to work until it reboots. After a reboot I get the "cannot find boot drive" error.

Is there a simple way to fix this? Thank again.

Here's a screen shot of my two Sata Drives.


Attachments:
datastore.gif
datastore.gif [ 28.85 KiB | Viewed 5365 times ]
Sun Nov 29, 2009 6:22 pm
Profile
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:13 pm
Posts: 3880
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M2A-VM SATA
ESXi does minimal writes to USB so there's no real hit with it.

To get the datastores to stick you'll need to edit simple.map to have the correct entries and enable the sticky bit on the file - viewtopic.php?f=14&t=318&p=1568&hilit=sticky#p1568.

_________________
Dave Mishchenko
VMware vExpert 2009-2013
Image
Now available - VMware ESXi: Planning, Implementation, and Security
Also available - vSphere Quick Start Guide


Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:50 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: ASUS M2A-VM SATA
Gave up on trying to get Pata to work but.....

Got Sata to work on 2 motherboards (TUL TRS690-M1 & MSI K9A2 Platinum) with SB600 chipset!!

The key was to delete all of the other AMD storage ahci.o entries and just add the 1002:4380 0000:0000 storage ahci.o to simple.map.

I followed these instructions http://www.vm-help.com/esx40i/customize_oem_tgz.php#Example, but didn't need to do steps 7-9:

7) cp /etc/vmware/pci.ids pci.ids
8) vi pci.ids
-- add the necessary description for your devices (this will be displayed in the console and VI Client)
9) close vi - press ESC and enter :wq

Now I can reboot and my Datastores and VMs show up without having to run the vmkload_mod ahci script.

Thanks for your help.


Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:11 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.