View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:38 pm



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Dell Optiplex 330 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:35 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Dell Optiplex 330
installed ESX 4i update 1 AND ESX 4 update 1

intel core 2 duo E4600, 2Gb ram 2x 250Gb sata disk, integrated nic
fully working out of the box with standard vmware install cds.

it recognizes all the disks, nic, etc..

- CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo cpu E4600
- are the onboard NIC / storage controller working YES, BOTH
- any changes required to enable ESX/ESXi to recognize hardware components NO
- does the storage controller support RAID / battery backup for write cache NO, integrated on mainboard
- does the MB support Intel VT (vt-x) / AMD-V NO
- does it support vt-d (directed I/O) / AMD IOMMU NO

for any question ask!
and I'll try to find the answer for your question

cheers

Matteo

EDIT:
here is a screenshot of Vi Client:
Image


Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:43 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:56 pm
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Post Re: Dell Optiplex 330
Hello,

You said that doesn't support intel VT or AMD VT so it means that you cannot create a 64bit VM is that correct?

I need a solution, preferably White Box built that offer me the possibility to have a main-board with CPU that both feature enabled intel VT or AMD VT and that I are know to work with ESXi 4.1.

I need to install Exchange Server 2007 as VM and that requires a 64bit VM

Thanks

Davide


Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:14 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:35 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Dell Optiplex 330
ok,
you can look up one the HCL to sort out a machine that fits your needs,
I don't have the Optiplex anymore for testing purposes so I can't really
help you anymore on the subject.



Matteo


Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:32 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:35 am
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Post Re: Dell Optiplex 330
you can try to look at HP's entry level servers:

Hp Proliant ML115 G5 (now EOL) AMD Opteron 2.4 GHz quad core, up to 8Gb ram (DDR2)
Hp Proliant ML110 G6: Xeon Quad core 2.4Ghz, up to 16Gb ram (DDR3)
Hp Proliant Microserver: AMD Athlon II Neo N36L (1.3GHz dual core), up to 8Gb ram (DDR3)

I own the ML115 G5 and the Microserver,
they both work very well with ESXi and they can run 64bit machines too.

If you need a large amount of ram I would recommend the ML110 G6 (that I don't own so I don't have any real-life experience on that)

These are clearly suggestions for testing environments and NOT production environments.


cheers!

Matteo


Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:38 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.