View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:27 pm



Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
 Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 8:46 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
ya i browsed through that list yesterday and the cheapest i found was about $80 and they didn't have a good rating (not using with esxi - rating). was hoping for around $40-50. i guess i'll just have to buy larger drives. thanks for the tips.

Dave.Mishchenko wrote:
An LSI based controller like the Dell Perc 5 /6 can be picked up used. There are some Adaptec options listed - http://www.vm-help.com/Whitebox_HCL.php. Just note that Adaptec HostRAID is software RAID and you'd have the same problem with ESXi.


Fri Jun 03, 2011 7:00 am
Profile

Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 1:53 pm
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
twood wrote:
Overall i think the ASUS p6X58D-E is a great mobo at least as an ESXi 4.1 :D

I got a P6X58D-E based on your statements and I get the same results as you and see the devices passed through in the guest.

However I see no drives on the sata ports and ahci errors in the kernel log of a linux guest, I do see USB devices connected to the host controller but I get errors when acutally using a device.

I have tried to pass the sata controllers to windows also with no luck, I see a device and tries to load drivers but it just doesn't work.

There is no evidence I can find of anyone actually using a device other than the vspehere client screen shot here. I believe it should be removed from the vmdirectpath compatibilty list.

Reading more here it makes it pretty clear YMMV on Asus.


Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:48 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 2:06 am
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
I confirmed VT-D could be enabled in X58A-UD3R 2.0
You need the latest BIOS FH1 (earlier bios should support as well but I didnt test) and press Ctrl-F1 to enable the hidden advanced Chipset Feature.
VT-D option is there.

It would states itself GA-EP45-DS5, I have no idea why it would happens.


Attachments:
vtd.jpg
vtd.jpg [ 156.4 KiB | Viewed 7481 times ]
Sun Jul 31, 2011 2:11 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 9:08 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
My CPU is an i7-920 and motherboard is GA-X58-UD3R rev 2.0. I have upgraded the BIOS to FH1.

When I am in the BIOS and press Crtl+F1 no menu for Advanced Chipset Feature appears.

Is there something else I should be doing?


Sat Aug 27, 2011 9:44 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:00 pm
Posts: 30
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
mcdull wrote:
I confirmed VT-D could be enabled in X58A-UD3R 2.0
You need the latest BIOS FH1 (earlier bios should support as well but I didnt test) and press Ctrl-F1 to enable the hidden advanced Chipset Feature.
VT-D option is there.

It would states itself GA-EP45-DS5, I have no idea why it would happens.


Did you reinstall ESXi after the bios fix or did it pick up VT-d automatically after you enabled it in the bios?


Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:05 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:52 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
kosti wrote:
My CPU is an i7-920 and motherboard is GA-X58-UD3R rev 2.0. I have upgraded the BIOS to FH1.

When I am in the BIOS and press Crtl+F1 no menu for Advanced Chipset Feature appears.

Is there something else I should be doing?

Same here. Screen flashes, but nothing new shows on the BIOS main screen. Using a Xeon E5606 on my GA-X58A-UD3R 2.0 with the FH1 BIOS. Even my cheap Asrock X58 Xtreme have no problem enabling and using VT-d.

Someone have a clue? :)


Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:55 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:52 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Gigabyte sent me the VT-d enabled FH1 BIOS. :)

This is for the GA-X58A-UD3R 2.0.


Fri Sep 23, 2011 1:26 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 9:08 pm
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Kamerat wrote:
Gigabyte sent me the VT-d enabled FH1 BIOS. :)

This is for the GA-X58A-UD3R 2.0.


Awesome work :D


Sat Sep 24, 2011 10:59 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 12:11 pm
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
I know it's a long shot, but if anybody's still listening I'm having trouble with this board. I can install ESXi 5.5 just fine (with an additional NIC, as the realtek isn't detected), but when I try to boot it just sits there with a flashing cursor. I've tridd AHCI and IDE mode, as well as RAID, and installing to USB but the result is the same every time. Is there a specific BIOS setting that worked for everyone?


Mon Apr 21, 2014 9:09 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.